Vice City: Multiplayer

Server Development => Scripting and Server Management => Script and Content Requests => Topic started by: Kenneth Law on October 11th, 2021, 11:48 AM

Title: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Kenneth Law on October 11th, 2021, 11:48 AM
Anyone knows how to create pieces of sea rectangle which can drown players?
My idea is to build another large custom map high up to sky and fill sea around it to make it not be floating in sight :P  Just want the custom map to become a real world.
No! Please don't try to tell me the function SetWaterLevel() because I've tried it and found that the water only existed outside the default vice city island. There is actually a lack of sea in the part of the original island area.
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Inferno on October 11th, 2021, 12:16 PM
You can use custom waterpro.dat to set sea boundaries.
And SetWaterLevel to change its level.
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Kenneth Law on October 11th, 2021, 04:46 PM
Quote from Inferno on October 11th, 2021, 12:16 PM
You can use custom waterpro.dat to set sea boundaries.
And SetWaterLevel to change its level.
Cool! But I don't know how to deal with those data in this file. Any tutorial for it?
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Inferno on October 11th, 2021, 09:45 PM
http://www.steve-m.com/downloads/tools/watereditor/


You can use this tool to edit water
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Athanatos on October 13th, 2021, 02:47 PM
I'm afraid SetWaterLevel doesn't work with custom waterpro.dat files. This was tested few years ago.
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Kenneth Law on October 15th, 2021, 04:38 PM
Quote from Athanatos on October 13th, 2021, 02:47 PM
I'm afraid SetWaterLevel doesn't work with custom waterpro.dat files. This was tested few years ago.
Quite strange after I added a custom waterpro.dat into my server. The sea becomes invisible although it does exist indeed. Players can drown inside but they can't see any water around. :'( :'( :'(
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Sebastian on October 15th, 2021, 09:07 PM
Quote from Kenneth Law on October 15th, 2021, 04:38 PM
Quite strange after I added a custom waterpro.dat into my server. The sea becomes invisible although it does exist indeed. Players can drown inside but they can't see any water around. :'( :'( :'(
I remember facing such a problem few years ago.
No idea why, but water wasn't visible at all when the Z level was too high.
I think you can test it even with SetWaterLevel in a normal server.
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Kenneth Law on October 16th, 2021, 04:21 AM
Quote from Sebastian on October 15th, 2021, 09:07 PM
Quote from Kenneth Law on October 15th, 2021, 04:38 PM
Quite strange after I added a custom waterpro.dat into my server. The sea becomes invisible although it does exist indeed. Players can drown inside but they can't see any water around. :'( :'( :'(
I remember facing such a problem few years ago.
No idea why, but water wasn't visible at all when the Z level was too high.
I think you can test it even with SetWaterLevel in a normal server.
With waterpro.dat the water is still not visible when at a low level. But if I use SetWaterLevel I can see the water however high it is while the only problem is that I am not able to set the boundary of sea as I want.
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Kenneth Law on October 17th, 2021, 04:34 PM
I've learnt how to use the tool to get the water visible now. All I need to do is to click the 'generate small map button' displayed on water editor after the sea boundary has been properly set. Only with the button clicked the sea can become visible in game.
Now the only problem is that if I can create sea in a same area  while it is on two different height? Since SetWaterLevel() doesn't work with waterpro.dat added in as mentioned above, I have to do that to make sure the original vice city sea still exists while another sea generated is added in for the custom map in sky.
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Sebastian on October 18th, 2021, 09:42 PM
Quote from Kenneth Law on October 17th, 2021, 04:34 PM
I have to do that to make sure the original vice city sea still exists while another sea generated is added in for the custom map in sky.
I doubt the engine supports a sea over a sea... since you can only edit a (2d) image to set it.
Though, in order to set water for different levels, you can use different colors, and then just specify the height level you want.

Here is my custom waterpro.dat used in #TLRP server
(https://i.imgur.com/pShB0i2.png)

black => water level 6.0 (default)
maroon => water level 72.0
etc...
Title: Re: I want to create sea!! Help me
Post by: Athanatos on October 18th, 2021, 11:47 PM
Quote from Sebastian on October 18th, 2021, 09:42 PM
I doubt the engine supports a sea over a sea... since you can only edit a (2d) image to set it.
There my dreams of making an other map to my server are gone,