Vice City: Multiplayer

Server Development => Scripting and Server Management => Snippet Showroom => Topic started by: MacTavish on Jul 15, 2015, 09:54 AM

Title: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: MacTavish on Jul 15, 2015, 09:54 AM
As you see that many peoples are asking about it and they are unable to create such system so i created this snippet

Just put this in your Functions.nut

function GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel(model)
{
switch(model)
{
case 6400: return "Your first car name";
case 6401: return "Your sec car name";
// you can create more like this and then
default: return "Name not specified";
}
}


Now an example of using this

onPlayerEnterVehicle(player, vehicle, door)
{
if (GetVehicleNameFromModel(vehicle.Model)== null ) MessagePlayer("Entered in "+GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel(vehicle.Model)+"",player); // lets check if the squirrel function return name as null if yes then our function will send vehicle name from its record
else MessagePlayer("Entered In "+GetVehicleNameFromModel(vehicle.Model)+"",player); // else if the name isnt null then it will send name of vehicle from module
}
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: [VSS]Shawn on Jul 15, 2015, 09:55 AM
I Was the one who Really in need of that Thanks

But Check out your code Getvehiclenamefromcustommodel but in entervehicle there is getvehiclenamefrommodel
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: MacTavish on Jul 15, 2015, 10:24 AM
the code is fine
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: Thijn on Jul 15, 2015, 04:18 PM
Why not add the GetVehicleNameFromModel function to the default switch? In that case you can just use one function call everywhere, instead of the messy code you gave as an example.
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: MacTavish on Jul 19, 2015, 08:22 PM
Quote from: Thijn on Jul 15, 2015, 04:18 PMWhy not add the GetVehicleNameFromModel function to the default switch? In that case you can just use one function call everywhere, instead of the messy code you gave as an example.

Because if they add more new custom vehicles and didnt listed the i'd in function then it will return null
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: Thijn on Jul 20, 2015, 05:33 AM
Quote from: Beztone on Jul 19, 2015, 08:22 PM
Quote from: Thijn on Jul 15, 2015, 04:18 PMWhy not add the GetVehicleNameFromModel function to the default switch? In that case you can just use one function call everywhere, instead of the messy code you gave as an example.

Because if they add more new custom vehicles and didnt listed the i'd in function then it will return null
I guess I'm done trying, you're too stubborn to learn.
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: MacTavish on Jul 20, 2015, 05:42 AM
Hey i'll try my best to improve it :) i will create an function to use everywhere but if you have an better idea then tell me i don't mind and i'd love to learn i am not like others e.g Finch ;D
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: KAKAN on Jul 26, 2015, 05:59 AM
Thijin why don't u make this topic sticky?
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: . on Jul 26, 2015, 06:00 AM
Quote from: KAKAN on Jul 26, 2015, 05:59 AMThijin why don't u make this topic sticky?

Because... ?
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: KAKAN on Jul 26, 2015, 06:02 AM
BECAZ This is gonna help people who are using custom vehicles for the 1st time
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: . on Jul 26, 2015, 06:04 AM
Quote from: KAKAN on Jul 26, 2015, 06:02 AMBECAZ This is gonna help people who are using custom vehicles for the 1st time

And? Is it that hard to come up with, as a solution?
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: KAKAN on Jul 26, 2015, 06:10 AM
What u mean?
Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: . on Jul 26, 2015, 06:23 AM
Quote from: KAKAN on Jul 26, 2015, 06:10 AMWhat u mean?

I don't know that either. But here's what I didn't meant:

Title: Re: [snippet] GetVehicleNameFromCustomModel
Post by: Thijn on Jul 26, 2015, 09:56 AM
Locked. The script has been posted, no additional comments add anything useful to this topic.
(And no, I'm not going to sticky this. If you can't come up with this script yourself, you should start to learn how to search)